top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

S.S Speke Shipwreck - Kitty Miller Bay


June 2020.


Phillip Island today, and what a beautiful day it was for some exploring. I’m going to do each adventure separately, starting with our fist stop - Kitty Miller Bay. I like to call this adventure ‘Where There’s a Will There’s a Way’. I had done some research into this before we headed off and left armed with some notes on the journey, luckily I didn’t need them as it was very obvious where to go as long as you do turn left at the bottom of the stairs.


The walk starts off by walking about 50 metres along the beach until you can see a very clear track heading up the hill that’s in front of you. This meanders along the cliff tops and offers superb views for roughly 800 metres. Soon your at the end and look down to see the remains of S.S Speke shipwreck.


Most people were admiring the sight from the edge of the cliff and it does give you a clear birdseye view, however there were people below taking a closer look and of course that meant we needed to also. From what I had read walking down would be steep although today it was extremely muddy, wet and slippery and when they say steep they mean steep! I strongly emphasis this it’s very steep. Call me a sook, that’s ok I felt like one but decided it was better to do what we could see others do which was retrace our steps and walk the full length along the beach. We got back down to the beach quickly but then things came to a grinding holt and it was then a slow walk along the uneven rocks back to the wreckage. There was a small section we needed to walk up and straight back down which was a little dicey but easily do able.


I thought the trek was well worth it as it was fun to explore, but I was soon to discover that the excitement of exploring the wreckage was going to be shadowed by the return trip. Walking along the rocks was time consuming and it was faster and at the time thought to be easier to walk back up the muddy slippery mess before us. Getting back up it was quite easy I thought and a far better option, although in saying that the words ‘thanks a lot Mum, this is your fault’ are still ringing in my ears. All in all I think we would have been better to had admired from above and moved on. @ S.S Speke Shipwreck - Kitty Miller Bay #phillipisland #southgippsland

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page