top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Out of Iso Destination Number 2 - Emerald to Gembrook


The walk from Emerald to Cockatoo is 6.2km and from Cockatoo to Gembrook is 7km. We have done both trails many, many times. All the fun of Emerald Lake is just out of Emerald on your way to Cockatoo, there are so many funny things to do there, I will list my favourites. The Wading Pool, it is open from December to March between 12.00pm and 6.00pm on days that are above 26 degrees (in January its open every day regardless of the temperature), keep in mind that it is not open on Code Red or stormy days. You must stay and watch your children even though there is always a lifeguard keeping eye on your children.


Emerald Lake Model Railway, which might I point out is the largest model railway in the Southern Hemisphere and is absolutely incredible. It is worth every cent of the $7.00 for adults and $4.00 for children to go and see this miniature world. It is sensational; I love it so much that right now if it were not closed to the public and I had to stay inside like the rest of the world I would be heading up there to see it again now. I will add it to my list of things to do once we can all go out again and strongly advise you to do so too. I am such a big kid at heart.


Lakeside Paddleboats, yes Emerald Lake has those also, they are so brightly coloured that they brighten up the whole lake a dreary overcast afternoon. They are two seaters and life jackets are supplied. You pay per ride not per person and the prices are as follows: $15.00 for 15 minutes, $18.00 for 20 minutes and $28.00 for 30 minutes. They are open on weekends, they are not open during the Winter months though.


The Café, fancy a cold drink after all the fun you have had at the lake or maybe some lunch so you can keep having fun all day long? The Café is open 7 days a week 10.30am until 4.30pm. If it is a picnic lunch you are wanting, then why not use one of the BBQ’s located around the lake. They have an outdoor gym and a playground for the kids however, I notice that the children seem to prefer the gym to the playground, that is ok as I prefer the playground. There is so much fun to be had at Emerald Lake I couldn’t not mention them.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page