top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Old Melbourne Gaol


When I asked my son what he wanted to do for his Birthday and he said Old Melbourne Gaol, I was so excited anyone would have thought it was my Birthday. I have delighted in going here since I was a young girl. When I was young we had a National Trust card and it got us into some pretty amazing places regularly including Old Melbourne Gaol, why I haven’t purchased a National Trust card recently I have no idea, that has to move to the top of my ’to do’ list. I love that the Old Melbourne Gaol cell block which is the portion of the goal remaining, looks how I remember it from a child as they have not made many major changes to remaining buildings since then. Some of the walls were pulled down from the original building after the goals closure in 1929. They haven’t added heating or air conditioning so rug up as in winter it’s cold, in summer it is much the same however I wouldn’t rug up. This is due the huge bluestone blocks.

I know ghost tours are conducted here on various nights of the week, I think they would give a different perspective of the big house to what you see on a day trip there. Even though you can go into and explore the very small cells which the prisoners resided in, I didn’t feel any spooks at all today. I felt no cold spots, no shivers or feelings of anyone there that I couldn’t see but I wouldn’t doubt those that do feel a presence when in there. Clay death masks are on display in many of the cells along with a brief history of the prisoner, and how they came to be where they were. Seeing their faces and reading their stories really brings the place to life, I found it extremely interesting.

I have to admit (and don’t hate me for it) I am very selective about what actually interests me, past history on certain topics sends me to sleep, but I find that the information is just so well presented for you here that you cannot possibly find it boring. If crime is not your thing I take back my last sentence you may not like it here, but if you feel that way it’s not somewhere you would go irrespective of what I have to say about it. For $65 dollars for our family we could spend as much time looking through the gaol ourselves, have a guided tour that lasts approximately an hour and best of all (my favourite part) was the Watch House Tour. The money goes to maintaining National Trust Buildings and is well worth it.

As I said the Watch House was my favourite part of the day. We met with the rest of the group out the front of the Watch House on Russel Street, before being ushered in to experience a real life encounter of what it would actually be like to be arrested. It is all done in jest and whilst I cannot describe it any other way than ‘full on’ I found it engaging. You will end up locked up and I won’t give anymore of that part away as you need to experience this for yourself. It was thought provoking to see the old police station I have always referred to as ‘The Remand Centre’ which closed its doors in 1994. We even got to explore the cells which have been left exactly as they were, and I do mean exactly. I had to be very selective as to which photos I could put on here as there is so much graffiti from the people who stayed in here that I actually learnt a few new words. I was so careful and thank goodness successful to keep my son shielded from things he didn’t need to see. There were quite a few children there, just make sure you look after them and shield them from things they need not see and they will have as much fun as you. The above photo is of the solitary cell which is reserved only for those in need of protection from other inmates such as police informants. I did not go into cell 7 which was reserved for those who were put in there for being intoxicated. There are no benches, just a cell with a drain in the middle so it can be hosed out in the morning, now do you see why I had absolutely no intention of going inside this one.


Back to the Old Melbourne Gaol, yes I’m hopping all over the place, but that’s exactly what we did. That’s the beauty of this adventure once your in you can go where you like when you like. Time for the middle floor, where we found out how the gaol operated back in its day, and also a lot of information about the hangman’s trade even with a ’hangmans box’ containing all their equipment. You will see the gallows and learn about the scaffold. Take a walk into cell M4 where the condemned spent time with a priest, yes Ned Kelly himself was in there.

Of course there are sections of the gaol that talk a lot about Ned Kelly, his story is laid out here for you to read and make the decision yourself, is he an Aussie hero or just a felon?


Last but not least we explored the top floor, this is where you will learn about the experiences of both women and children who were confined to the gaol. When I say children I best point out that any a mother who was locked away in here that had a child under the age of 12 months, was permitted to take their child with them. Women spent much of their days in here sewing prisoner attire for themselves and the men. You will also see the green whipping triangle, which was used only to punish male prisoners, corporal punishment was not inflicted on the women.

What a great time we had here, I was glad I didn’t have to spend any longer than I wanted to behind this big door. Luckily I wasn’t locked in and could go home to my creature comforts.




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page