top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Maroondah Dam


June 2020.


Today’s adventure took us to the beautiful Maroondah Reservoir, which is a place I love so much that if I had of done a ‘Top 11 Out of Iso Destinations’ it would definitely of made the cut. I have been visiting this beautiful location for as long as I can remember, I remember and may even dig out some old photos of my Dad taking me there from a very young age. Of all the times I have been I have never seen it so full 101.1% full in fact. Usually when we visit the spillway is dry and covered in branches and leaves but not this time. Today the spillway was full of water and as you can see water was constantly spilling over, the end result was quite and impressive Revells Falls.


We walked up to the lookout track up to the lookout, it’s always a good view even though it’s a little overgrown at the moment. I did notice a few parts of the park were looking a little unkept such as the sundial, which is usually in prestige condition. We walked back down to the carpark via the Forest Track, which was a lush green heaven and well worth the slippery at times, steep down hill walk. We came out of the forest and were in tranquil serene Henderson’s Picnic Area. This was a beautiful section of our walk towering trees and a beautiful grassy area perfect for a picnic blanket and a bite of lunch.


A short walk from here took us straight back to the main carpark, and just like that our day of exploring was suddenly over. I did have the words ‘can we do it again’ in my head but didn’t let the words out, as there is always next time and being only an hour and 15 minutes from Melbournes CBD it won’t be long until we are back. I did hint at visiting Donnelly’s Weir which can be walked to from The lookout, its about 2.4km but it was getting on in the day and best to leave for another day. Donnelly’s Weir can be driven to and is definitely one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. There are so many beautiful places to visit in this area I look forward to getting back there. #maroondahreservoir #melbournewater #maroondahdam

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page