top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Ferntree Gully Quarry


June 2020.


What a hidden gem Ferntree Gully Quarry Reserve is. I have heard some good things about it lately and thought it was time to see for myself. Getting there wasn’t as easy as I had first hoped the navigation device took us to a fenced off area that had no entrance, I think it may have been the back of the reserve, and once we did find the entrance it was no where near the main entrance. Follow Quarry Road and you won’t miss it. There are not many carparks there and that was our next issue. The roads there are narrow and the last thing I wanted to do was inconvenience any of the locals so we finally got one of the carparks further away which suited us nicely.


The walk down to the bottom and the waters edge was lovely, well formed paths meandering their way down to the lake through an open green grass area. The paths were wide but not wide enough for us to social distance from other visitors coming towards us, we were happy to walk on the grass in parts though. In saying that it was such an open space that I felt it was a great place to safely get some exercise. We had a picnic in a quiet area and didn’t have anyone else anywhere near us. Once down the bottom at the lake I was blown away with the fishing facilities, they made me wish we had a rod and some bait, so much so we will bring our fishing gear next time we visit. There were signs to say not to swim which was a bit of a shame, of course I had no intent in doing so today, but I did think it would be a great spot to swim in the summer months.


There are bbq’s and a playground at the very top near the carpark that looked brand new and extremely clean (closed at at moment). It’s a great place for children as they would love to explore grassy green area and I could picture games of hide and seek or tiggy being played. As for four legged fur babies they are welcome and we saw quite a few having the time of their lives taking it all in. What a nice place to enjoy and soak up what I keep thinking may be the last of the winters blue sky and sunshine. @ Ferntree Gully Quarry Reserve



109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page