top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Donnellys Weir and Maroondah Aqueduct


This would have to be one of the prettiest places I have ever been, so picturesque and serene. We drove down Donnellys Weir Road, Healsville until we came to a river crossing just before the carpark. I was unsure if my car would make it through the shallow yet wide river so to be on the safe side parked before the river and used the rocks in the river to balance my way to the other side. It was a short walk up to the carpark, where I saw a many cars parked and I realised my car would easily of made it, note to self next time park in the carpark.


From the carpark it was a short yet beautiful walk along a quiet relatively flat track.


Once at the weir it was a jaw dropping sight of beauty, there was not much to do there other than have a little explore and relax whist taking in the view (what a shame). There is a toilet and rotunda there and plenty of places to lay down a blanket for a picnic.


From the weir we then walked a short distance back along the track towards the carpark and headed up a path to our left, which bought us to the fast flowing Maroondah Aqueduct, amazing the highlight of my day. I love an aqueduct I find them intriguing (unfortunately others with me don't always feel the same). The path is well maintained and flat.


We walked along the aqueduct for about a kilometer until we came to the Echo Tunnel, and echoed it did, we had a bit of fun.


You can continue along the aqueduct track past the Echo Tunnel all the way to Maroondah Reservoir, but we headed back to the car.



31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


f.cutler
Mar 31, 2019

This looks great!😀

Like
bottom of page