top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Could This Be My Pick For Number One School Holidays Destination?


When Healesville Sanctuary popped into my head as a School Holiday destination, I truly thought what are you thinking. We haven’t been for so long and the last time we went I was so impressed that we haven’t been for nearly 10 years. The drive out there was extremely pleasant, lovely green hills and the odd cow along side us and we headed to our destination. Upon arrival my excitement levels quickly shot up. Car parking was so simple and easy and there were carparks a plenty so all in all very much a stress free destination to get to and park at once there. The price is the same as the other two main zoos (Melbourne Zoo and Werribee Open Range Zoo) so be prepared to open your wallet fairly wide to get in.

Our first stop was the huge and I do mean huge natural bird habitat that you can walk through along a boardwalk. Now is the time to mention to anyone who doesn’t personally know me, I don’t like birds. Birds and I have never had a harmonious coexistence, I place blame in the birds wings. I don’t do anything to them other than try to avoid them, what do they do back poo on me, swoop me and wake me up in the mornings (especially Sunday mornings when otherwise a sleep in may be possible). Anyway yesterday was a different day I decided to look at them for their natural beauty and give these creatures another chance. I am so glad I did, they were amazing. The natural boardwalks were beautiful and lovely to stroll along, the birds were not hard to spot they were everywhere.

Next we went into the parrot enclosure, and just like that I love birds! They were so beautiful and you could even feed them.


Ok this is the last mention of the birds I will make, if you go here I cannot recommend more going to one of the two daily sessions (one at 12pm and one at 2.30pm) of the ‘Spirits of The Sky’. Had we have gone to the earlier session we would have gone back to the later one also. The keepers were so informative but presented the information in such an exciting, humorous manner that the information really sunk in. It was fabulous.

Enough about the amazing birds now, let’s move on.

Onto the reptiles, amazing this is definitely a section worth a wander through. The snake above was huge and I was glad that when I tried to re-enact the scene in the first Harry Potter when he visits the zoo and releases the snake failed and the snake stayed where he belonged.

My favourite part of Healesville Sanctuary is that you can actually see all the animals, there was not one animal that we visited, but couldn’t actually see them. They were all out roaming about, all the enclosures looked lovely and all the animals looked happy.

What a great place to take the kids these holidays and have their photo taken with the two biggest butterflies I have ever seen. All round this was a happy, fun and informative day that we all absolutely loved. We parked our own picnic and unless you want to really fork out for food I would suggest others do the same. At $7.50 for hot chips do yourself a favour and take in your own. Obviously I want people to get out and enjoy Healsville Sanctuary first hand, so I have not covered all the amazing sights there, there is so much more. Why not take the kids today? If you do head out there let me know your thoughts 😊

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page