top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

Badger Weir


Winter certainly hasn’t put a hold on our adventures, we have just been rugging up and continuing on our way. So, previously we had visited the ever so pretty nearby Donnelly’s Weir and absolutely loved it. I have been keen to get to Badger Weir, as it has been closed due to extensive storm damage in 2016 I have been waiting quite a while. The picnic area has undergone an amazing transformation with wonderful new facilities. The toilets were clean, there were plenty of picnic tables to enjoy your surrounds whilst having lunch and there were many barbecues there also.

At the beginning of the path we chose to take, and there were a few to choose from, we were greeted with the above picturesque steadily flowing stream.

As I mentioned there are quite a few different paths that all take you to Badger Weir. We chose to go via the Slip Track and what an impressive track it was. Tall Mountain Ash, green Tree Ferns and possibly mud are the first things that spring to mind when I recall our walk. Steep hills, did I forget to mention that there were some steep hills, enough to keep us nice and warm as we travelled along the path, not so steep we had to take a breather.

The path we took was well worth a couple of hills to see this beauty.

The path turned into a boardwalk as we neared our destination, it may look slippery but I assure you the chicken wire on top of the boards provided good stability. If anyone was going to slip over it would have been me, but I didn’t even come close it was cleverly designed and I was thankful for it.




As it was hard to not stop and take in our surrounds that were so truly beautiful, it took us a bit longer than it should have to get to the end.

We made it, and wow what an interesting place. I was surprised how completely different it was to its nearby friend Donnelly’s Weir. If you are asking the question, but which did you prefer? I would have to say Donnelly’s Weir. Why? It really was one of the prettiest places we have been, now that’s not saying Badger Weir wasn’t beautiful also just not quite the same. You will have to visit both and let me know which you prefer. If you are in the area doing one why not just do them both, that aren’t that far away from one another a ten minute drive to be precise. Badger Weir also differs as it’s a longer (only 1.4km so not very far) walk, Donnelly’s Weir is an extremely short walk.

Once we had finished exploring and ready to head back we decided to take a different path. We went back via the Coranderrk Road. And wasn‘t I in particular, pleased that we did!


We found an aqueduct, well I don’t mean no one else knew about it or it was lost, I simply mean I hadn’t anticipated to see one and was extremely excited when we ‘found’ it. I love aqueducts they are possibly my favourite thing to either seek out or stumble across ‘Mum try not to get too excited‘ and the flowing stream were all I could hear. The path back followed the aqueduct for much of the journey. It was a much faster and easier walk along this track. It was wide and the gravel meant it wasn’t muddy and easy to walk along.


All in all a lovely adventure, until next time get out there and enjoy venturing Victoria.



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page