top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVenturing Victoria

1001 Steps - Bayview Park


So, I have to start by saying I was so keen to get here that they haven’t even officially opened yet. Did that stop me or the rest of Victoria from heading there . . . No. I was so pleasantly surprised with how nice it was here and what a lovely walk we had. The first thing I noticed was they are spacious, oh so much room. No handrails at either side so there is plenty of room for people to step to the side for a breather. Now as I mentioned earlier they have not officially opened as yet and they are yet to add facilities such as seats and toilets. Once they are in I think this will be even more comfortable. Friendly, my goodness people here were nice, hello’s and how are you’s coming at me left right and centre, a real breath of fresh air compared to other fitness based places we have been. Now the view, I’m not going to sugarcoat this - you are not surrounded by a beautiful forest like you are at another well known set of steps, instead you have high voltage lines one side and a view over rooftops out to the city on the other, have a look below for yourself. I actually liked the surrounds and view they kept me interested as we walked up and around the steps.

Have a look at the negatives of the view (if you wish to call them that) and then have a look at the beautiful green hills with the well landscaped steps below, quite stunning really.

As you can see above there is just so much room and for those who want a break from ‘stepping‘ you can even just walk along the side of the steps. I really hope one of their ‘finishing touches’ isn’t going to be handrails, I think that would completely put me off. I love that this is right smack in the middle of suburbia, so for so many people this is right on their doorstep, meaning that yes there were a lot of people. In terms of the carpark and parking close by there were not cars parked absolutely everywhere, despite the fact that there was a large number of people enjoying the steps. I could only assume many had walked from their homes.

This is definitely somewhere I would be saying to friends come with me and bring your husband/wife, kids, parents, grandparents anyone you fancy because we can all go here and thoroughly enjoy it together. This is a great place for young and old I have to admit, we saw all ages and fitness levels such a mixture of people here as it’s possible for anyone to do. For those wanting to do more than just the steps, I noticed that there was also paths leading off the steps. I didn’t do them today as I need something to write about tomorrow 😉


161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page